Visitor to the new beetle bunker

Image

Roman Dudko

I had my first official out of town carabidologist visit the collection in the newly acquired space I have dubbed the “Beetle Bunker”.

Visiting was Roman Dudko from Institute of Systematics and Ecology of Animals SB RAS. Roman works mostly on nebrines and bembidiines. He has come to California and is travelling with Sean Schoville to chase some high elevation species in the northeast part of the state.

It was nice to meet Roman and I am pleased he had a chance to look over the collections.

The newly acquired space, aka the beetle bunker, is in Wellman Hall and is a nicely refurbished room with a tight door and limited access. I finally have a single place to put all the pinned Essig carabids, specimens from my collecting and all the loan material I have. Before, the carabids were distributed in five places, in three buildings. What a headache that was. The EtOH material is still in main lab room in cold storage, but most specimens are now in the building with me only a couple flights down from my office in the BB. Everything was treated for pests before it went into the room so it is nice and clean. However, since it was previously scattered around, the order of the collection is far from well organized. I hope to have it in better shape by the end of the summer and visitors that would like to study their group of interest and help sort things out are always welcome.

About Kip Will

I'm an insect systematist with expertise in carabid beetles, who is always happiest in the bush.
This entry was posted in Carabids, Coleoptera, Entomology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Visitor to the new beetle bunker

  1. Alex says:

    Hi and cheers from Latvia!
    Alex

Leave a Reply

