My cyber-pterosticoid space larva tattoo

Me, left lateral view

Me, left lateral view

Why yes it is a stylized cybernetic third instar Pterostichus larva stepping across a rip in space to snatch a supernova from the middle of a star life cycle.  Thanks for noticing.

It may seem to be mere vainglory,  but a proper tattoo may serve as many purposes as there are individuals that bear them. Tattoos have a  long history as well, stretching back at least 5200 years. My oldest tat is a little more than 30 years old, but way back then, when personal computers were incredibly rare and rotary phones still stalked the earth, I met girl… joined army… ended up with tattoos. You can fill that story in if you know anything about the 1980s. As it turned out, all these years I never really like the smudged blue unicorn tattoo on my back, but since it wasn’t normally visible to me and I didn’t see the expressions on people faces when they were viewing, it lingered. I finally realized I wanted to get a proper tattoo and really experience participating in the art and design, the act of creation and actually  be part of the art.

First I had to find the right artist. After shopping around I found Nicole of Blue Star Tattoo. She was great. Super professional, a great Artist and a very interesting person to talk with. She is the kind of artist that says (and I loosely paraphrase her here), “yea, I can do snakes and ‘fuck-me’ roses, but I would rather not” (I was assured by the Blue Start folks that these are the sort of technical terms the pros use). Most importantly she was a real pleasure to work with when it came to taking my imagination and realizing it. Since I didn’t have a lot of time to spend doing this, the process started last November and spanned a series of sessions. Below are some images from stages along the way and some close-ups of the final product.

Test

Once we had a basic design and I explained what a Pterostichus larva was, the outline was done. Notice the murky stain on my scapula. That is that old tattoo to be covered.

Here is Nicole of Blue Star doing her thing.

Here is Nicole of Blue Star doing her thing.

This is the intermediate stage.

This is the intermediate stage.

The complete design consists of the larva, which is stylized somewhat and intended to be a cyborg version (it has hydraulics in its legs, wicked spikes and red stemmata) and it is stepping across a colorful tear in space (think Lovcraft) to snatch the supernova in its jaws from the series (back to front) of massive star, red super giant, supernova and black hole.

Close ups of the final product, left to right, front, lateral and back view of the larva and star series.

Close ups of the final product, left to right, front, lateral and back view of the larva and star series.

Freshly done, colors are still very bright and yes, stingy.

Freshly done, colors are still very bright and yes, it still stings.

I like to so much that I might get the urge to do the rest of the beetle life cycle. What would the egg, pupa and adult look like….?

About Kip Will

I'm an insect systematist with expertise in carabid beetles, who is always happiest in the bush.
This entry was posted in Carabids, Pterostichines and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My cyber-pterosticoid space larva tattoo

  1. Nice! This would be great in Carl Zimmer’s science tattoo emporium.

  2. Kip Will says:

    I couldn’t find a working link to Carl’s tattoo emporium. I’m not sure where he draws the line between science and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

